Chemically-Aided Meditation: The Quiet Side of Psychedelia

Hallucinogens aren’t just party drugs. They can also be an effective tool to self-discovery

Andrew Johnston
6 min readJul 20, 2021
Photo by Anton Darius on Unsplash

When I first used psychedelics, it wasn’t because I wanted to have a fun time. I was going through a tumultuous period that challenged much of what I’d formerly believed about the way the world worked. It was hallucinogenic self-help, and after a few tries, I figured out how to make it work: Quietly.

My first session of chemically-aided meditation was something of a fluke — I wasn’t expecting it to be as profound as it was. All I thought I was getting was a few hours of free association, and instead I ended up living other lives for a while. These sessions helped me address some problems and even inspired my fiction work, yielding pieces such as this one:

This is my basic guide to chemically-aided meditation. I don’t think that there’s anything groundbreaking here, but given that most people seem to use psychedelics to enhance an experience, I thought it might be worth remembering…

--

--

Andrew Johnston

Writer of fiction, documentarian, currently stranded in Asia. Learn more at www.findthefabulist.com.