Dating and the Internet: A Deconstruction

My opinion on this whole “dating site” thing has shifted just the slightest bit in eight years

Andrew Johnston
7 min readSep 21, 2021
Photo by Robert Anderson on Unsplash

Let me tell you how I’ve come to hate dating websites.

And I do mean it when I say that I’ve “come to hate” them, because I didn’t always. Once upon a time, in a younger age when the digital ocean that is the internet seemed a little less crowded and a little less polluted, I loved dating websites. Imagine! Going around the stilted conventions of regular society, sidestepping the heartbreaking world of rejection, blind dates, setups and awkward bar conversations to find your One True Love wherever they might be. Wave of the future, I thought.

I even wrote about it back in the day. While poking about in an old, since locked down Wordpress blog, I found a long post I composed on the subject. Some of what I’ve unearthed in the yawning crypt that is my old blog is actually pretty good, rich with things that I could have said yesterday, but this particular piece was written by a stranger in a strange time.

The piece, entitled “Dating and the Internet: A Synthesis,” was very much an encomium to my first real girlfriend, whom I did meet through a dating website. She really was the ideal mate for the 22 year-old me — attractive (too much so to be…

--

--

Andrew Johnston

Writer of fiction, documentarian, currently stranded in Asia. Learn more at www.findthefabulist.com.