Twitter Is on the Verge of Becoming a Haven for Scammers

Andrew Johnston
3 min readNov 10, 2022
Photo by Sunny Haccan on Unsplash

I really didn’t want to write anything else about Twitter. I just plain don’t care.

Frankly, I’ve seen more articles about Twitter in the last week than I saw on the Senkaku Islands dispute during two agonizing years of waiting for our two largest trading partners to go to war. That’s pathetic.

But this is a little different. You see, the internet has become a very parochial place. It’s a natural consequence of having platforms with user bases that have very well-defined demographics. Twitter is for movers and shakers in the press, entertainment and politics, and there’s not much overlap between that group and heavy users of YouTube. This makes it easy to miss how what happens on Twitter can affect other platforms.

It started when I received a notification on Discord pointing me toward this:

So let me explain what’s going on here.

As you might be aware, the internet has turned into a sewer of fraud over the last few years. Maybe that’s because it’s harder to make honest money; maybe…

--

--

Andrew Johnston

Writer of fiction, documentarian, currently stranded in Asia. Learn more at www.findthefabulist.com.